Asha from AO Music

One of the joys of working in broadcast radio is getting advance copies of new releases. AO Music has sent along three CDs over the years, including this newest album from them. Asha is slated for official release on April 7, 2017. I am happy to have gotten a copy a month ahead of time. It just arrive din my mail box today!

I popped the CD into my player as I sat down to work on one of my writing projects. I was distracted a bit from writing because of the new music. It was mesmerizing in a way. A firm basis in one style with a myriad of influences from around the globe. Just a look at the track list should give you an idea of what I mean.

Starting out with what sounds like a purely Asian or Indian inspired track and moving asha tracksaround the globe into Africa and South America before winding up in the Gaelic countries, this collection of beautiful music will take you on a journey that is both inspiring and relaxing. The vocals are those of adults and children. AO Music likes to work with children’s choirs where ever they go to record.

I was a little surprised that Though We Are Here Now sounded more Gaelic than Gaelic Medley. Not that I was taken aback. Oh, no. I enjoyed both tracks. Just that it threw me for a bit of a loop. Had double-check to make sure I hadn’t gotten tracks confused. Ha!

Over all I was quite happy to add this CD to my new age music collection. Can I compare it to anything else? Can I compare it to their previous releases? Sure, I can do that. But it wouldn’t really do them justice. Comparing to their earlier releases is easier. Hokulea was the first of their albums that made it very evident to me that they enjoy working with young singers. The tracks on that CD are filled with joy and happiness. …And Love Rages On! is filled with that sense of love that the title mentions. But Asha is on its own something of beauty and inspiration. I’ll be listening to this album for a while, enjoying the moods that it stirs within my heart and soul as well as using it to relax and journey forward in my every day life.

Asha is AO Music’s first release under their new signed label Abbeywood Records. Visit their site to see more artists.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Age Music

Leave a Reply

